INTERNATIONAL UNION OF ARCHITECTS

e / Communiqué

14 JANUARY 2013

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION

EUROPEAN BIOCLIMATIC SCHOOL IN CRETE: FIRST PRIZE "EUZEN ARCHITECTURE" TEAM LED BY THEODORA KYRIAFINI & FOTINI LYMPERIADOU

The Greek office "EuZen architecture" led by Theodora Kyriafini & Fotini Lymperiadou, and their team made up of Evgenia-Christina Malezi, Ilektra-Theodora Kefalloniti and Alexandra Iosifidou carried off the first prize in the international competition for the design of a European Bioclimatic School in Voutes, Crete. Their project was selected by the jury from amongst the 134 entries submitted.



Based on a series of courtyards where the natural ventilation and shading ensures a comfortable environment, the design associates the building principles of the Cretan tradition, use of rough unrefined materials, rammed earth and timber with current technologies to meet contemporary construction needs.



The team comprised of Greek architects **Platon Issaias**, **Theodosis Issaias**, **Costandis Kizis & Alexandra Vougia** won the second prize and that led by the Canadian architects **Taymoore Balbaa & Chris Wong**, the third.



Two honorary mentions were awarded to Evangelos Ravanos (Greece) and Niculae Grama (Romania) and three special mentions went to Athanasios Bampanelos (Greece), Giorgos Mitroulias (Greece) and Klaus Roloff (Germany).

The competition was organised by the **Greek School Buildings Organisation** (SBO) in association with the **International Union of Architects**, through its international Programme **Architecture and Renewable Energy Sources (UIA-ARES)** and with the support of the **Technical Chamber of Greece**.

Herakles Droulias, the CEO of SBO, noted that the "success of the competition is reflected not only on the quality of the winning design, but also on the quality and quantity of the entries that SBO received". He also pointed out that "utilising architectural competitions as a tool for innovative design always receives excellent reviews from the architectural community and we expect to set an example for other organisations".

The jury was composed as follows: Antonio Riverso, President of the jury, UIA Vice-President, Region I,Ben Nakamura, architect, Japan, UIA representative, Angela Brady, RIBA President, Nikos Fintikakis, UIA Council member and Technical Chamber of Greece representative, Ferruccio Favaron, architect, Italy, Alastair Blyth, UK, OECD representative, Olga Pappa Greek Association of Architects representative, Sissy Kopana, architect, SBO representative, Myrto Papadatou, architect, SBO alternate representative, Damianos Abakoumkin, alternate Technical, representative, Jure Kotnik, architect, Slovenia, alternate UIA representative.

See the winning projects on line

www.seeh-competition.gr